Saturday, April 20, 2024
Home > Counties > Laikipia County identifies Covid 19 Isolation Centres

Laikipia County identifies Covid 19 Isolation Centres

Laikipia County has identified 20 boarding schools for use as isolation centres for Covid-19 cases when need arises.
This comes after the government gave directives to the ministry of education to work with each of the 47 County governments and identify 20 schools as isolation centers as a Covid-19 preparedness plan.
The move by the national government is intended to avert a crisis should Coronavirus positive patients increase to more that the prepared government centres can hold.
A letter with a list of the schools provided to KNA at Nanyuki by Laikipia County Education office and signed by the County director of Education (CDE) Susan Murerwa, shows that the principals of the 20 boarding secondary schools in the five Sub Counties have been alerted on the development and are now waiting for further directives and action from the ministry of health.
The list has been compiled in consultation with Laikipia County Commissioner, Daniel Nyameti and the County Government Executive in-charge of Education, Tabitha Mbiriiri.
Meanwhile, the County Government of Laikipia yesterday started distributing a total 7,000 face-masks to boda boda riders and Community Health Volunteers (CHVs) across the County, as a way of assisting them comply with Government’s directives.
By Margaret Kirera

Leave a Reply