Wednesday, March 29, 2023
Home > Editor's Pick > Speaker Kirinyaga County assembly resigns

Speaker Kirinyaga County assembly resigns

The  Speaker  Kirinyaga County Assembly, David Githanda  Wachira shake hand with Governor  Ann Kamotho after the signing of the Budget recently. Photo by Irungu Mwangi/KNA.

The  Speaker  Kirinyaga County Assembly, Davis Githanda  Wachira  has  resigned on Tuesday.

Githanda  in  his resignation letter to the County Assembly said he was resigning for personal reasons with effect from August 15, 2019.

Githanda  meanwhile, wants the assembly to commence the process of appointing a Speaker to ensure smooth transition.

He  said he was grateful to the governor, Mrs. Ann Mumbi Kamotho, all the assembly members and the staff for the cooperation they gave him during the period he served as the Speaker and Chair of the County Assembly Service Board.

The  resignation  letter  was  copied to the Clerk of the Assembly, Governor Kamotho and James Kamau Murango leader of  the Majority.

Reports  from the assembly have it that the speaker could have recent changes in the assembly that saw all the elected  MCAs removed as committee chairs.

The first to fall victim was the chair budget committee, Davis Mathenge and Elisha Mwangi who chaired the gender committee.

Both have been staunch supporters of the governor and seem to have fallen from her favour when they accompanied the health workers to the county headquarters where they were denied entry to the premises during the Health workers strike three weeks ago.

The  MCA  were out to meet the governor and have a dialogue on how the health workers would resume their services  in  the hospital.

Previously  none of the nominated members of the county assembly headed any committee but now are the ones in the  lead.

The  development committee is now headed by a nominated member, Scolatica Nyawira, Education committee, Albima  Njoka, Delegated Committee Rose Njeru, Finance and Economic Planning, Kefa  Kariuki.

The  Agriculture Livestock and Fisheries, Caroline Wanjiku Mureithi, Medical Services and Public Health, Lucy  Njeri Mwaniki , Youth  and Sport, Maurine Muthoni Mwangi, Members welfare committee, Beatrice Njoki  Mitaru, Public Service and  Administration, Daisy Grace Nyaguthii, Cooperatives, Trade, Tourism Industrialization and Enterprise Development, Ann Wachera.

By  Irungu  Mwangi

Leave a Reply