Home > Counties > Busia > Governor Otuoma reshuffles his cabinet

Governor Otuoma reshuffles his cabinet

Busia Governor Paul Otuoma has reshuffled five of his cabinet members and created one more County Executive Committee Member’s post – (ICT, Sustainable Development Goals Mainstreaming and Economic Revitalisation).

The new slot will be filled by a banker Douglas Okiring, once the County Assembly approves his nomination. Finance and Economic Planning CEC Member Ms. Topista Wanyama will hold a brief for the new nominee in an acting capacity.

In his executive order dated August 7, 2023, Dr. Otuoma said the appointments take effect immediately and are aimed at effective service delivery to the local residents.

Busia Deputy Governor Arthur Odera will now be in charge of Health Services and Sanitation from his previous post as the CEC Member for Water, Irrigation, and Natural Resources.

Odera takes over from Ms Beatrice Nakholi who has been moved to the Department of Education and Vocational Training formerly held by Ms Pamela Awori.

Awori has been moved to the Department of Public Service Management taking over from Mr. Andrew Nakitari who has taken over the Department of Transport, Roads, Public Works and Infrastructure.

Nakitari will take over from Mr Andrew Meso who will be in charge of the Department of Water, Irrigation, Climate Change and Natural Resources. Those who retained their positions include Mr George Mukok, (Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries, Blue Economy and Smart Agriculture), Mr Peter Odima (Lands, Housing and Urban Development), and Mr Paul Olunga Ekewnye (Sports, Gender and Creative Arts).

Mr. Omuse Olakachuna Fidel has retained the Trade Industry, Investment, and Cooperatives but with added responsibilities following the incorporation of Small and Medium Enterprises, Energy, and Tourism Promotion Directorates.

The Governor also appointed seven new chief officers whose names have also been forwarded to the County Assembly. They include Mr. Wilberforce Lusamba (Health Services and Sanitation), Mr. Kelly Omboko Wafula (Water, Irrigation and Natural Resources), Mr. Dennis Levis Ngira (Sports, Culture and Social Services), and Ms. Priscilla Okoth Barasa (Sports and Culture).

Chief Officer Governorship Mr Elijah Mwaro has moved to the Department of Trade, Investment Cooperatives, SMEs, Energy and Tourism promotion. He has been replaced by Mr Solomon Abwaku who was moved from Lands, Housing and Urban Development.

Other Chief officers moved include Ms. Isabella Odoyo (Water to Economic Planning and Budgeting), Mr. John Muroki (Education to Water), Mr.Kennedy Mbaja (Trade to Public Service Management and Mr. Faustin Ochunga (Agriculture to Education).

The Governor also made further changes in the executive with Mr. Ahmed Hafoe (County Secretary), MrTimothy Odende (Ag Deputy County Secretary, Mr. Vincent Mutanda (Chief of staff), Mr. Emmanuel Juma (Director Governor’s press Service), and Mr. Peter Ogubi Bwire (Special Aide to the Governor).

By Salome Alwanda

Leave a Reply