Home > Counties > Health administrative fund board inaugurated

Health administrative fund board inaugurated

Top officials of the County Health Department have committed to support the newly formed County Health Services Administrative Fund Board in its bid to streamline revenue collection and re-investment of the same into the Health sector.

Health Chief Officer, Capt. (Rtd) Augustine Lokwang’, assured the board of unlimited access to existing financial records of all the facilities under their jurisdiction.

Speaking during the induction of the fund board members in Lodwar Town, Lokwang’ said that the operationalization of the board would diversify health financing streams and reduce heavy dependence on the equalization fund.

Lokwang’ lauded the composition of the board as appropriately inclusive of both youth and experienced members in dealing with matters health governance.

While congratulating the board members for their appointment, Lokwang’ urged them to embrace unity of purpose as a sure way of realizing the goal of giving service to the people of Turkana.

He was accompanied by County Solicitor-General, Ruth Emanikor, and Directors in charge of Medical Services, Dr Gilchrist Lokoel, Director Policy, Planning and M&E, Sarah Lokaala, and Director LCRH, Dr Yvonne Musa, Deputy Director County Treasury, Emmanuel Lochor

Lokoel said the board’s operations were regulated by an Act of the assembly for which he urged the members to familiarize themselves with.

Noting that the inclusion of two chief officers in charge of Health and Finance as well as the placement of Lodwar County Referral Hospital CEO as the board secretary would promote compliance to Public Finance Management and raft of laws as well as global best practices in health systems governance.

Emanikor reiterated the legal implications of additional laws around which the Act giving effect to the board must operate.

As part of the induction program, the team also toured Lodwar County Referral Hospital, Kanamkemer Sub County Hospital and Nabulon Health Centre.

The Chair of the Board, Chris Eweillar, was formally appointed after a rigorous vetting process by the County Assembly late last year alongside Daniel Eripon, Sarah Kaatho, Ruth Kuya as members and, Grace Asibitar as the Fund Administrator.

By Peter Gitonga

Leave a Reply