Ijara MP concedes defeat

Counties Editor's Pick Elections 2022 Garissa Member of Parliament

Ijara parliamentary seat has finally been announced after about 24hrs delays, caused by heavy downpour which made delivery of 13 ballot boxes from Hulugho and Bothai Sub-counties in Garissa be delayed.

National Agenda Party, NAP-K, of Azimio la Umoja Party Candidate, Abdi Ali Sheikhow, has won with 7,341 votes against his close contender, former clerk to the Garissa Assembly Ahmed Ibrahim Abass of ODM Party garnered 5,367 votes.

The incumbent, Sophia Abdi Noor, garnered 3,456 votes and Independent candidate, Abdullahi Yarrow Gedi, a former Administrator of Garissa County, an Independent candidate garnered 1, 362 votes.

Announcing the results, Ijara Returning Officer, Mr. Issack Mohamed, appealed for peace after the election exercise.

Conceding defeat Ijara Member of Parliament, Sophia Abdi Noor, said she will work closely with the MP elect, Abdi Ali Sheikhow and challenged him to ensure he completes the project she had started and was unable to finish within her tenure.

By Mohamed Dahir

Leave a Reply