Kajiado East Constituency gets new legislator

Counties Editor's Pick Elections 2022 Kajiado Member of Parliament

ODM’s Kakuta Maimai is the MP-elect for Kajiado East Constituency.

Kakuta garnered 28,730 votes while his closest opponent Mary Seneta of UDA polled 20,047 votes.

The MP-elect who has vied for the position two times before and failed said his win this time indicates that God’s time is the best.

Kakuta takes over from current MP Peris Tobiko who had staked her chancea at the gubernatorial seat and lost in the UDA nominations to Katoo ole Metito.

The constituency had seven other candidates seeking to represent the residents in parliament.

These included George King’ori (TSP) who garnered 8,551 votes, Marina Kelly (Jubilee) got 5,321, David Parseina (Wiper) got 1,906 Samuel Maingi (CCK) 2,321, Vivian Sainapei (CPK) 231 and Douglas Keton who is an independent candidate got 1,243 votes.

Jubilee’s candidate Marina Kelly has since conceded defeat while Mary Seneta (UDA) says that the voting exercise was marred by election malpractices.

Kajiado East Constituency has a total of 116,336 registered voters distributed among five wards namely Kaputiei North, Ilmaroro, Poka Kenyewa, Kitengela and Oloorsikon Sholinke ward.

By Diana Meneto

Leave a Reply