Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Home > Counties > CJ Koome Swears in Officials of the IEBC Selection Panel

CJ Koome Swears in Officials of the IEBC Selection Panel

The Chief Justice (CJ) Martha Koome on Thursday presided over the swearing in and appointment of the Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Selection Panel members who were already approved and vetted by Parliament.

The members sworn in include Bethuel Sugut, Nelson Makanda, Benson Ngugi, Charity Kisotu and Evans Misati.

Speaking at the Supreme Court Building in Nairobi, Koome said that she had no doubt that their appointment is merited given that they are distinguished professionals in various professions.

The CJ added that she has confidence that they will perform their respective tasks within the confines of the law.

“I urge you to bear in mind that you are at the service of Kenyans and therefore must discharge your mandate fairly and in accordance with the law. You are intended to be a major facilitator of the realization of an electoral body composition that is fair and just in accordance with the constitutional edict,” stated Koome

She also noted that given the country’s electoral history, the panel has enormous responsibility in ensuring that the process accords national unity and state stability.

Further, Koome urged the commissioners to observe their oath of office by recognizing and appreciating the trust bestowed upon them which mandates one to perform functions with strict adherence to the constitution and law.

“I encourage you to remain faithful to this oath of faith in the discharge of your responsibilities bearing in mind the enormous responsibilities placed upon you,” the CJ reiterated.

By Phinta Amondi




Leave a Reply