Home > Counties > Electorates to wait longer to know their leaders

Electorates to wait longer to know their leaders

Electorates will be forced to wait a little longer to know the official election results from IEBC with many tallying centres slowly tickling in results from the polling stations.

In Meru County, a slow process of tallying the votes cast yesterday is delaying the announcement of winners for various elective seats despite some candidates conceding defeat while others claim victory.

The delay in the announcement of official results has also led to tension in some areas where opposing camps claim victory.

At Ntunene Girls Secondary School which is the tallying centre for North Igembe Constituency, supporters of UDA aspirant Julius Taitumu blocked the road claiming to be ‘guarding’ his votes amid rigging claims.

At Kaguru ATC which is the tallying centre for Imenti South constituency, supporters of Jubilee aspirant Shadrick Mwiti took to the streets dancing victory songs.

By noon, the Independent Elections and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) had only processed results from 16 polling stations out of the 168 in the constituency whereas in Imenti Central, the Commission had tallied and verified results from 43 out of 159 polling stations.

In Igembe South, supporters of incumbent MP John Paul Mwirigi took to the streets of Maua town although the tallying is still going on and the Returning Officer has not yet announced the winner as at 12.45 pm, buses were still bringing more ballot boxes.

According to the declared results, Mwirigi had 7,254 votes followed by Mwenda Mzalendo (1,943) and Jacksmart Kirema (582).

A total of 44 polling stations out of 173 had reported, with Mithika Linturi leading the Meru governorship race, having garnered 6,559 votes, followed by Kiraitu Murungi (1,740) and Kawira Mwangaza (1,146).

Eager voters closely followed results trickling in from polling centres on televisions, radios and social media platforms.

By Muguongo Judy

Leave a Reply