Home > Counties > Homa Bay to elevate five towns to municipalities

Homa Bay to elevate five towns to municipalities

Five towns in Homa Bay County have been recommended for elevation to municipality level by an Ad-Hoc Committee.

The nine-member committee handed over a report on assessments conducted on boundaries and situations of urban centres within the county to Homa Bay County Deputy Governor Hamilton Orata and County Executive for Lands and Urban Development Roseline Odhiambo.

The report indicated that the Ad Hoc Committee had recommended five towns including Kendu Bay, Homa Bay town, Oyugis, Ndhiwa and Mbita for municipality elevation.

Speaking during the handing over ceremony, the Committee Chairperson Paul Yego from IEBC headquarters said that confirmation was the only thing left for the completion of the process.

“We have analysed the situation of the urban centres in the county that were proposed and came up with a report on the same as well as a map on the boundaries that will go a long way in the planning of the future,” said Yego.

On his part, Deputy Governor Hamilton Orata, expressed his gratitude to the committee saying that the move would change various things on how towns within the county are managed.

“In any case the towns are approved, the municipalities will each have a board in charge of monitoring their running as well as matters pertaining to planning and development,” said Orata.

The Ad Hoc Committee was appointed by the Cabinet Secretary James Macharia in August last year to establish whether the centers that had been previously proposed were qualified for the elevation.

By Omar Zabbibah and Sitna Omar

Leave a Reply