Sunday, April 21, 2024
Home > Counties >  Nairobi County Assembly becomes 11th county to pass BBI Bill

 Nairobi County Assembly becomes 11th county to pass BBI Bill

Nairobi County Assembly has become the 11th County to pass the BBI Bill, 2020.

Nairobi now joins ten other counties including Kisii, Laikipia, Vihiga, Kajiado, Trans Nzoia, West Pokot, Busia, Homa Bay, Kisumu and Siaya county assemblies that have since passed the proposed amendments.

A total of 114 Members of County Assembly voted in support of the Bill, five of them virtually through zoom.

The bill needs the support of at least 24 county assemblies before it can be tabled at the National Assembly.

This means that only 13 more counties are remaining to pass the Bill for it to move to the next stage.

As per the law, approval by 24 out of 47 counties is required for the bill to be subjected to a referendum.


Last week, Baringo County became the first county to reject the bill in a day that turned chaotic, with police officers lobbing teargas into the assembly to disperse the unruly MCAs.


by Alice Gworo


Leave a Reply