Wednesday, May 29, 2024
Home > Counties > Busia > Ojaamong says he is too young to retire from politics

Ojaamong says he is too young to retire from politics

Busia Governor Sospeter Ojaamong has declared that he will remain politically active post 2022.

Ojaamong made the declaration to a congregation at St Teresa of Avila Kwang’amoru Catholic Church on Sunday where he promised not to leave elective politics citing his 30-years political experience.

“I am a governor and I have only two years left to leave office. After 2022 when I vacate office and I come back and ask you to give me another office, promise to support me.

Where do you expect me to go when I am still very energetic and full of political experience? I will come back and talk to you so that we agree on the direction we will take,”he said.

Reports of Ojaamong going for Teso South Parliamentary seat, which is his home constituency, in 2022 have dominated social media groups across Busia County in the last few months with residents having divided opinions.

Ojaamong’s Sunday declaration comes on the background that the Kenyan Constitution does not bar governors who complete their second terms from contesting for other political positions including the Presidency, Senator, Member of Parliament, Woman representative and Member of the County Assembly.

The governor was first elected in 2002 as Member of Parliament for Amagoro Constituency, which has since been split into Teso North and South constituency after successfully dethroning the then legislator Albert Ekirapa.

He was re-elected in 2007 before going for Busia gubernatorial seat in 2012 and successfully defending the seat in the 2017 general elections.

With barely two years left to the next General Election, a number of the county bosses will be ineligible to vie again having served two consecutive terms in line with the constitution.

This scenario has seen a majority of them start strategising on their political future.

Some of those set to leave office include Wycliffe Oparanya (Kakamega), Hassan Joho (Mombasa), Amason Kingi (Kilifi) , Alfred Mutua (Machakos),Sospeter Ojaamong(Busia), James Ongwae (Kisii), John Nyagarama (Nyamira) and Mwangi wa Iria (Murang’a),

Others are Martin Wambora (Embu), Salim Mvurya (Kwale) , Josphat Nanok (Turkana), Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu), Samuel Tunai (Narok), Paul Chepkwony (Kericho) Patrick Khaemba (Trans Nzoia), Okoth Obado (Migori) and Cyprian Awiti (Homa Bay).

By Melechezedeck Ejakait

Leave a Reply