Wednesday, September 27, 2023
Home > Counties > Priscilla Kurgat: The only Women MCA in Marakwet West

Priscilla Kurgat: The only Women MCA in Marakwet West

Marakwet West Sub County has the only woman MCA in Elgeyo Marakwet elected to the county assembly.

Priscilla Kurgat Jepkoech was elected as the Member of County Assembly (MCA) of Lelan ward garnering 7,626 votes winning over her rival Pius Rotich Kwambai who got 339 votes.

The sub county has also gotten the youngest ever MCA to be elected to the County assembly of Elgeyo Marakwet.

Joshua Kipruto, a 22-year-old of UDA was elected to represent Kapsowar ward garnering 8,892 votes beating the incumbent Presley Kiyeng an Independent candidate who got 1,267 votes.

Arror and Sengwer wards both have MCA’s who were vying as Independent candidates.

Abel Kiptoo Kiyeng was elected as MCA for Sengwer ward garnering 3,654 votes ousting the incumbent MCA Kiprono Kipkoten of UDA who got 3,015 votes, John Kibet got 390 votes and with Wilson Keitany getting 66 votes.

Justin Kosgei Mutwol also vying as an Independent candidate garnered 2,333 votes enough to win MCA seat of Arror ward beating the incumbent Christopher Kibor of UDA party who got 1,729 votes, Geoffrey Rotich came third with 53 votes and Benjamin Cheserek came fourth with 18 votes.

The Member of National Assembly seat was also taken by an Independent candidate, Timothy Kipchumba Toroitich who decided to vie as an independent after losing out in the UDA nominations.

He won after garnering 27,803 votes beating the incumbent William Kisang who got 17,749 votes, David Sudi of The New Democrats party came third with 270 votes.

In the senatorial polls, Onesmus Kipchumba Murkomen of UDA garnered 39,267 votes beating the current governor of Elgeyo Marakwet County Alex Tolgos of Jubilee who got 5,262 votes, Peter Kaino got 464 votes and Kosgei Kipruto got 216 votes.

The gubernatorial polls saw Wisley Kipyego Rotich of UDA and the current Deputy Governor of Elgeyo Marakwet get 44,102 votes followed by Anthony Kipkoi Chelimo who got 808 votes, Changwony Moses Kiplagat got 594 votes and Tabitha Jeptoo Seii got 196 votes.

In the presidential polls William Samoei Ruto of Kenya Kwanza got 44,439 votes, followed by Raila Amollo Odinga of Azimio who got 1,290 votes, George Wajackoya of Roots Party got 47 votes and David Mwaure Waihiga of Agano party got 31 votes.

The woman representative poll saw Caroline Ngelechei an Independent candidate get 24,407 votes and the incumbent Jane Jepkorir Chebaibai of UDA get 20,757 votes, Rose Kipchumba got 470 votes. Total votes cast was 45807.

By Rennish Okong’o

Leave a Reply