3 CECs, 4 Chief Officers Sworn into office

Counties Editor's Pick Governance Turkana

Governor Josphat Nanok on Thursday witnessed the swearing in ceremony of three county executive committee members and four chief officers in a ceremony held in Lodwar.

The function was presided by Lodwar Court Administrator John Lotir. The county assembly approved the nominations of the seven officers after a vetting exercise.

Those sworn in as CECs were Vincent Palor- CEC Water Services, Losikiria Alexander Flemings- CEC Tourism, Culture, Environment, Energy and Natural Resources, Jeremiah Lokitoe Namuya- CEC Infrastructure, Transport and Public Works.

Among the new chief officers were Stella Lochodo- Chief Officer for Tourism, Culture, Environment, Energy and Natural Resources,  Andrew Salim Losiru- Chief Officer for Lands, Housing and Urban Areas Management, Dr. Charles Malcom Lochodo- Chief Officer for Health and Sanitation and John Emuria Tukei- Chief Officer for Public Works.

Nanok urged the new officers to discharge their responsibilities with commitment, diligence and accountability.

“I am committed to ensure that the County Government continues to provide services to residents of the county and implements development programmes including completing ongoing projects before the end of my term,” Nanok said.

“There is a lot of pending and essential work to do, please come and help me deliver, if you want the next government to see you as a hardworking officer you must prove it in these few months, do your best and prove yourself,” said Nanok.

Turkana County Public Service Board Chairperson Dr. John Ngasike encouraged the newly sworn officers to exercise transparency while discharging their duties in various offices in which they have been appointed to hold.

“Those who have taken oath of office as County Executive Committee Members (CECs) and Chief Officers, should come to County Public Service Board and declare their wealth, so that EACC may be able to fast-track their source of wealth as a measure to curb corruption,” said Ngasike.

Present in the event were the County Attorney, Members of the County Assembly (MCAs) and senior government officials.

By Peter Gitonga and Ekuwam Sylvester

Leave a Reply