Thursday, May 23, 2024
Home > Counties > Construction of 125 CBC classrooms commences in Narok

Construction of 125 CBC classrooms commences in Narok

The construction of 125 classrooms in Narok County under the first phase of Competency Based Curriculum (CBC) infrastructure development programme has begun.

Speaking during the groundbreaking event at Eor Ekule Secondary school in Narok East Sub County,  Narok County Commissioner Evans Achoki reminded the contractors that they had up to April 2023 to complete the classrooms.

Achoki cautioned the contractors that the government will not accept substandard classrooms that would not last for a long time saying the County Development Implementation Coordination Committee (CDICC) will be visiting the schools impromptu to ensure everything was running smoothly.

“The contractors should be fast but be careful to do quality work as expected. We expect the contractors to finish the job before the candidates sit for the national examinations in March next year to avoid a lot of movement in the school compound when the examination is ongoing,” he said.

Other schools visited for ground breaking are Kimelok secondary school in Narok North Sub County and Olshapan secondary school in Narok South Sub County.

The County Commissioner reiterated that only the contractors who will do an excellent job in the first phase will be considered for the construction of the second phase.

Narok County director of Education Jane Njogu said the contractors have to stick to the deadlines because the country was preparing for a double intake in the year 2023 when two sets of candidates will be joining secondary school.

“We will have the first group of CBC pupils joining junior secondary and the other group that will complete class eight joining secondary school. This means we are left with no choice other than delivering the classrooms as directed by the government,” said Ms. Njogu.

The government targets to construct a total of 174 CBC classrooms at a cost of Sh137 million in all the public secondary schools in the county.

Narok West Sub County will take the lion’s share of 36 classrooms, while Narok South and Trans Mara West Sub counties will get 32 classrooms each. Trans Mara East has been allocated 30 classrooms, Narok North 28, while Narok East Sub County will get 17 classrooms.

By Ann Salaton


Leave a Reply