Sunday, April 21, 2024
Home > Counties > Kiamba is the new Makueni MP

Kiamba is the new Makueni MP

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), has declared Susan Kiamba of Wiper Party, as Makueni Member of Parliament elect after garnering 26,909 Votes.

Kiamba was followed by Francis Mutungi (Independent) who got 18,725 votes, and Stanley Kyungu (UDA) came third with 11,456 votes that attracted seven candidates.

The results were declared by IEBC Makueni Constituency Returning Officer, Florence Kwamboka Mogaka, on Wednesday night at Makueni Boys High School Tallying Centre.

“I am grateful to the people of Makueni Constituency for putting trust in me to be their MP,” said Kiamba.

Kiamba added that she will work closely with her competitors for the benefit of the residents of Makueni.

“I will empower the youth by nurturing the youth talents by investing in sports infrastructure, artistically works, and creating a conducive environment for business,” she added.

The MP- elect promised to improve security, infrastructure including building police posts and Chiefs and their Assistant offices, in order to deliver better services to the residents.

Kiamba further said she will ensure that National Constituency Development Fund’s bursaries, are equally distributed to all deserving students in the area.

Also in the race was Fred Musau (Independent) with 3,463, Daniel Mutuku (Narc Kenya) got 524, Lawrence Nzung’a (Muungano) 473 votes and Daniel Nzeki (ODM) 230 votes.

Makueni Constituency has 102,712 registered voters.

UDA candidate, Stanley Kyungu, conceded the defeat.

However, the announcement result was delayed from 5pm to 9 pm because one of the Presiding Officers left the ballot boxes and results unattended and went to sleep.

He was recalled back to trace the results on the ballot boxes to facilitate tallying of the final results.

“Muambwani Polling Station PO brought the ballot boxes here, left in the queue and went to sleep before the results were attended, we have recalled the Officer immediately,” said Mogaka.

Also, ODM Raila Odinga garnered 48,756 votes, UDA William Ruto got 12,092 votes  in the presidential results in the Constituency. George Wajakoyah got 418 and David Mwaure managed 90 votes.

By Patrick Nyakundi and Ronald Rono

Leave a Reply