Home > Counties > Kibagendi elected as Kitutu Chache South MP

Kibagendi elected as Kitutu Chache South MP

Antony Kibagendi of the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party is the MP-elect for Kitutu Chache South Constituency in Kisii County.

The Constituency Returning Officer, David Cherop declared Kibagendi the duly elected MP having garnered 14,478 votes in the Tuesday Election.

Kibagendi beat nine other candidates in the election with his closest competitor, Andrew Maubi getting 10,378 votes having vied for the seat on a Wiper party ticket.

In third place was Eric Abuga (UPA) who got 4,131 votes, while Samuel Omwando who ran as an independent got 3,471 votes and Cynthia Toel of the Jubilee party got 2,738 votes.

She was followed closely by Pius Abuki (PDP) who got 2,694 votes and Justine Nyagami (UDA) who garnered 1871 votes.

KANU candidate Eric Nyaberi followed with 409 votes, followed by Justus Mochoge (DAP-K) with 235 votes and James Onkangi, an independent candidate trailed with 113 votes.

Kitutu Chache South Constituency has a total of 66,980 registered voters spread across the five wards including Kitutu Central, Nyatieko, Nyakoe, Bogeka and Bogusero.

According to Cherop, only 40,517 registered voters participated in the election and 22,778 voters chose to abstain this year.

Kibagendi who served as a Director for Youth Affairs in the Office of the Deputy President replaces the long-serving MP, Richard Onyonka who vied for the senatorial seat in this year’s election.

Kitutu Chache South is a cosmopolitan Constituency that was split from the larger Kitutu Chache with the introduction of devolution to create Kitutu Chache South and Kitutu Chache North constituencies in 2013.

By Mercy Osongo

Leave a Reply