Saturday, April 20, 2024
Home > Counties > Moran’s Cup Football Tournament Kicks Off

Moran’s Cup Football Tournament Kicks Off

The sixth edition of the Moran’s cup in Kajiado County has kicked off with 20 teams from all the sub counties expected to participate.

According to Alex ole Musikeri, the Chairperson of Football Kenya Federation (FKF), Kajiado County Branch, the teams are divided into four pools with each pool having five teams.

“The teams to participate have been selected from the best teams in the different leagues within Kajiado County from the Sub County, county, regional leagues and division two leagues. The Moran Cup therefore brings together the best teams from Kajiado as we seek to nurture their talent and expose them to scouts who identify their talents and provide them with bigger opportunities like playing for the national teams,” said Musikeri.

Musikeri noted that the Moran’s Cup tournament has already brought positive results to the participants such as the Kajiado FC team which emerged second in the fifth edition is now playing in the national super league hence he is hopeful Kajiado will soon be represented in the Kenya Premier League.

Musikeri however noted that lack of funding and adequate stadiums to play in are a major challenge to the tournament.

“Bringing together young men from all over the county is a challenge as they have basic needs to be met. Ildamat Stadium is the only stadium in Kajiado with artificial turf while others have sand and stones but we have to use them due to lack of other options,” said Musikeri

Speaking during the kick off, County Executive Committee Member (CECM) in charge of Education, Jeremiah ole Ncharo noted that the tournament has been scheduled to take place during the holidays so as to engage the youth in an effort to keep them busy so as not to engage in vices such as drug abuse.

The tournament has been organized by the County Government of Kajiado in partnership with Kenya Wildlife Service (KWS) and Betnare, a Kenyan owned betting company.

Apart from the male teams, six female teams will also be participating in the tournament. The finals will be played on Saturday, 17th December at the Ildamat Stadium in Kajiado.

By Diana Meneto and Sammy Rayiani


Leave a Reply