Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Home > Counties > County set to operationalise Policing Authority

County set to operationalise Policing Authority

Turkana Governor Mr. Jeremiah Lomorukai today chaired a meeting between Turkana leaders and heads of the county security team led by the County Commissioner Mr. Jacob Ouma to discuss the establishment of the Turkana County Policing Authority.

The County Policing Authority is established under Section 41 of the National Police Service Act to coordinate security functions at the county level.

In the meeting held at the Ateker Hotel in Lodwar, the Governor announced that the county will begin the process to recruit six “non-state” members of the Authority, as per Section 41 of the National Police Service Act (2011).

The Authority is chaired by the Governor and includes members of the county government, security bodies, and citizens.

Other members of the Authority include a representative of the National Intelligence Service, county representatives appointed by the Inspector-General, two elected members nominated by the County Assembly, the chairperson of the County Security Committee, and at least six other members appointed by the Governor.

The formation of the Authority across the country has been delayed since the passage of the law until early this year, when President Dr. William Ruto directed Interior Cabinet Secretary Prof. Kithure Kindiki to fully operationalize the body.

Lomorukai stated that the Authority will not usurp the powers of the police service, but support security organs in their functions.

“The Authority is not meant to kill the police service but to supplement its efforts and strengthen security functions in the county. This is an important organ, and we will expedite its formulation,” he said.

Senator James Lomenen echoed the importance of the Authority in improving response to security incidents. He promised to offer the Authority the political goodwill necessary for its success.

The inaugural meeting resolved to fast-track the implementation of the Authority by requesting the nominating entities to provide the names of their respective appointees. The County Public Service Board will also be required to expedite the recruitment of non-state actors to be appointed by the Governor with the approval of the Assembly.

The leaders discussed funding modalities for the Authority, with members present emphasising the need to expand the funding sources to ensure the sustainability of its programmes.

MCAs who attended the meeting included Leader of Majority Stephen Edukon, Leader of Minority Samuel Lomodo, Majority Whip Samal Etubon, and Minority Whip Vincent Ekipor.

County Attorney Erastus Ethekon took the leaders and officers through sections 41 to 44 of the National Police Service Act, which provide for the establishment of the County Policing Authority in each county.

He also highlighted the guidelines for the competitive recruitment, vetting, and appointment of non-state members of the authority.

Other senior county staff present included County Secretary Peter Eripete, Chief Officer for the Office of the Governor Paul Lodunga, and TCPSB Administrator Simon Ipoo.

By Peter Gitonga

Leave a Reply