Home > Counties > EPRA lists non-compliant facilities distributing illegal gas

EPRA lists non-compliant facilities distributing illegal gas

The Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority (EPRA) has listed nine non-compliant facilities operating illegal Liquified Petroleum Gas (LPG) activities in the country.

EPRA said the listing was a result of random surveillance and enforcement exercises undertaken by the Authority between the months of April and June 2021 with a view to enhancing consumer safety.

The nine facilities are City Gas Limited, Green Energy Limited, More Gas Limited, Eco-Energy Limited, Topline Traders Limited, Salama Gas Limited, Valley Gas Limited, Moto Gas Limited and Kofurow Gas Limited.

According to a statement sent to newsrooms today, Section 11 (e) of the Energy Act 2019 mandates EPRA to develop and enforce guidelines that ensure compliance with the Act and the licensing conditions stipulated in the Act.

Further, the Petroleum Act 2019 and the Petroleum (Liquefied Petroleum Gas) Regulations 2019 require persons to undertake the business of LPG in accordance with the terms and conditions of their valid licenses issued by the Authority.

The Authority carries out surveillance and enforcement on Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) facilities with a view to enhancing environmental and consumer safety.

“We encourage the public to report suspected cases of illegal LPG trade through the hotline number 0709 336 000 which is operational during official working hours, the Authority’s USSD code (*363#) and SMS service code (40850),” read the statement in part.

By Alice Gworo

Leave a Reply