Saturday, September 23, 2023
Home > Counties > Kitilai Ole Ntutu is new MP for Narok South

Kitilai Ole Ntutu is new MP for Narok South

Kitilai Ole Ntutu, an Independent candidate has been elected to represent the people of Narok South in the National Assembly after he garnered 17, 238 votes.

Ntutu, who is a brother to the gubernatorial candidate Patrick Ntutu, beat his closest competitor David Moyone of UDA who polled 15, 080 votes.

The incumbent Narok South MP Korei Lemein, who was an independent candidate and who has served for two consecutive terms managed 13, 247.

Others who were in the same race were Stephen Kudate of ODM who polled 8, 923 votes, Bett Elijah (Independent) 946 and incumbent Deputy Governor Evalyn Aruasa (Independent) who managed only 163 votes.

Ntutu who spoke to journalists after receiving his certificate from the returning officer Ms. Christine Otieno at Arid Zone Primary School thanked the electorate for voting him in office promising to implement many development projects in the county.

The MP-elect also invited his opponents to work together so that they can develop the vast constituency where residents trek for long distances in search of water and roads are impassable during rainy seasons.

His brother Patrick Ntutu who accompanied him at the tallying center congratulated him for the victory and called upon his supporters to be calm as they await the gubernatorial results.

Tallying at the six constituencies of Narok County has ended and all eyes are set on the county seats that are expected to be announced this evening at Maasai Mara University.

Three out of the six MPs in the county have been elected on UDA tickets. They are Narok East’s Ken Aramat, Gabriel Tongoyo in Narok West and Johannah Ng’eno who retained the Emurua  Dikirr seat.

The other elected MPs are Narok North MP-elect Agnes Pareiyio on a Jubilee ticket, Julius Sunkuli in Kilgoris (KANU) and Kitilai Ole Ntutu (Independent) in Narok South.

By Ann Salaton

Leave a Reply