Home > Counties > Kiunjuri reclaims Laikipia East seat

Kiunjuri reclaims Laikipia East seat

Former Cabinet Minister in charge of Agriculture Mwangi Kiunjuri bounced back as the Laikipia East Member of Parliament after trouncing the incumbent Mohamend Deddy with 30,199 votes during the August 9, general elections.

According to the election results announced by Ms Tabitha Ndirangu the Returning officer at Thingithu boys secondary which acts as Laikipia East tallying centre, the  sitting MP Deddy  was defending his seat in this years’ poll through the United Democratic Party (UDA) managed to garner 28,070 votes

“I declare Kiunjuri Festus Mwangi, as being duly elected as Member of National Assembly on the elections held on August 9, 2022,”said the Returning Officer.

Kiunjuri, also The Service Party (TSP) leader got the majority votes in his rural home backyard of Umande where he scooped 5,048 against his challenger who bagged only 2,690 votes.

“This was not only a contest for the seat of Laikipia County, it was about flying the flag of TSP across the country. And it was not about winning but grounding the TSP party,” said Kiunjuri.

The Service Party leader who joined Kenya Kwanza in a last minute rush, was first elected to parliament in 1997 at only 27 years to represent Laikipia East constituency and was later reelected for two other consecutives terms until 2013. Serving for a whopping 15 years as a parliamentarian.

By Muturi Mwangi

Leave a Reply