Wednesday, February 21, 2024
Home > Business & Finance > Kwale County Establishes Two Municipalities

Kwale County Establishes Two Municipalities

The  Kwale County Government has elevated Kwale and Diani towns into municipalities seeking to get a share of the Sh.30 billion being doled out by the World Bank to improve services and infrastructure.

Following the elevation, Governor Salim Mvurya on Tuesday witnessed the swearing-in of the new municipal managers and members of the municipality boards at the county headquarters in Kwale town.

He said the new boards will oversee the collection of revenue, town planning, water supply, regulating public transport, beautification and landscaping among other tasks.

Mvurya said Sh.26 million is being spent in lighting up streets and venues in Diani, a thriving tourism hub while a further Sh.400 million is being spent on upgrading the water system in Kwale town.

The  Governor said roads, markets, sewerage and the drainage system will be targeted in the urban improvement programme.

“We have full confidence in the new board with seven members each that they will go out of their way to transform these towns into prosperous municipalities,” he said while briefing the press after the swearing-in event.

He went on, “We expect the promotion to municipal status will ensure that the two towns will attract domestic and foreign investors”.

He said the boards to be supported by a secretariat will be ensuring services are provided to residents as well as following up on implementation and compliance on policies set out by the county and national governments.

Mvurya  said the newly inaugurated boards will ensure participation of residents in decision-making as well as activities and programs being undertaken.

Governor Mvurya also said plans are at an advanced stage to classify Lunga Lunga and Kinango towns into municipalities.

By  Hussein Abdullahi

Leave a Reply