Home > Counties > Memusi retains Kajiado Central MP seat

Memusi retains Kajiado Central MP seat

Kajiado Central legislator Elijah Kanchory Memusi has retained his parliamentary seat.

Memusi who was defending his seat on an ODM ticket garnered 23,357 votes against his closest rival Moses Birisha (Wiper) who managed 22,877 votes.

Anthony Kiroken (UDA) garnered 4,562 votes while Janet Sankale 256 and Racheal Nayeiyo (Independent) managed 136 votes.

Kajiado Constituency Returning Officer Mugo Ngunjiri announced the results at the Maasai Technical Institute Tallying centre.

Speaking after being declared winner, Memusi thanked the Kajiado Central residents for having confidence in him and re-electing him to lead them for the next five years.

Memusi noted that although the race was tight his supporters had managed to help him win and he was ready to work with his opponents to ensure service delivery to the residents.

The MP was first elected into parliament in 2013 during a by-election on an ODM ticket.

According to IEBC, Kajiado Central has a total of 65,823 registered voters. 51,449 voters managed to cast their vote in the August 9, General Elections.

Vote tallying is still underway in the Kajiado Central, East, West and North constituency tallying centres.

By Rop Janet

Leave a Reply