Home > Counties > Moroto retains Kapenguria parliamentary seat

Moroto retains Kapenguria parliamentary seat

United Democratic Alliance party’s (UDA) Mr. Samwel Moroto has retained the Kapenguria parliamentary seat according to IEBC final tally on Thursday morning.

The IEBC votes tally, indicated that Moroto garnered 19,448 votes, while Ms Philomena Loitareng’an also known as Chepoknur of Jubilee Party finished second with 13,741 votes.

Moroto was in the race with other competitors Mr Alex Lokimoi who garnered 474 votes, Philemon Lotudo polled 8,138, Haron Ruimaita polled 7624 while Nicholas Siwatom polled 1148 votes.

Moroto spent most of the time campaigning for United Democratic Alliance party for presidential candidate Deputy President (DP) Dr William Ruto. He said he was happy he as delivered many candidates for UDA in the region.

While speaking to the press after receiving the certificate of election on Thursday, Moroto said the race has not been easy but takes the credit to God who enabled him and people of Kapenguria for their trust in him for leadership.

He said he will serve all Kenyans without discrimination; he urged the locals that their votes have not been wasted, and he will not betray the trust he has been bestowed upon.

West Pokot governor, Prof John Lonyangapuo of Kenya Union Party (KUP) who is vying to retain his seat has so far garnered 22,880 votes, while former governor Simon Kachapin has polled 26,781 votes while Nicholas Atudonyang polling 644 votes.

West Pokot County Returning Officer (CRO) Ms Joyce Wamalwa said gubernatorial election results will be verified and winning and losing candidates to know their candidature at the county tallying centre in Kapenguria Mtelo hall.

In the Senate seat, UDA candidate Mr Julius Murgor as per the provisional results from Kapenguria constituency has garnered 25,350 votes against the incumbent Samuel Poghisio of KANU who has 10,801 votes while Lipale Geofrey polled 13,374 votes and Dennis Kapchok alias Mulmulwas polling 1,022 votes.

West Pokot next governor, County Women Representative to the national assembly and Senator position to be known today after the verification of votes at the county tallying centre in Kapenguria Mtelo hall as per IEBC official updates on Thursday.

By Anthony Melly

Leave a Reply