Home > Counties > Multiagency security team deployed ahead of Rally

Multiagency security team deployed ahead of Rally

A multiagency security team from both land and air has be deployed ahead of the Safari Rally later this week.

The National Police Inspector General, Hillary Mutyambai, in a statement sent to newsrooms, today, has said the multi agency team comprising of National Police Service, Kenya Wildlife Service, National Youth Service and safety marshals.

Mutyambai explained that the team will provide total and round the clock security to all the participating stakeholders. The plan is executed in three tiers, prior to, during and post-event.

“Some activities like traffic movements will be temporarily affected on the rally routes. Spectators and photojournalists are also advised to watch the event at the safe side of the road,” he said in the statement.

Mutyambai urged the public to comply with the security and Ministry of Health protocols which he reiterated, will be enforced effectively by the security officers who are already under instructions.

More than 1,000 police officers have been deployed to Naivasha to strengthen security during the World Rally Championship’s, the Safari Rally.

Over 50 rally drivers including 34 Kenyan racers are set to participate in this year’s World Championship.

Over the years, the annual event had gained ground as a legendary fixture in the global motorsports calendar, before it was dropped from the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) and relegated to the African Rally Championship in 2003.

The epic and the eagerly-awaited WRC event will revolve around Lake Naivasha and Lake Elementeita within the renowned ecosystem.

The event will feature the three WRC manufacturer teams namely Toyota Gazoo Racing, M-Sport Ford and Hyundai Motorsport WRT.

WRC defending champion and current leader Sebastien Ogier headlines a star-studded list of 52 top drivers to battle for supremacy in the WRC Safari Rally slated to run from June 24-27 in Naivasha.

Ogier, the Frenchman, who also won the 2019 WRC title, will represent the Toyota Gazoo Racing Team with other entries seeing Elfyn Evans, Kalle Rovanpera and Takamoto Katsuta who will be competing in the WRC RC1 category in the Toyota Yaris.

Hyundai will be represented by Thierry Neuville, Ott Tanak and Dani Sordo while M-sport Ford have rolled up their sleeves and are not taking chances, bringing in Gus Greensmith, Adrien Fourmaux, Teemu Sunninien, Lorenzo Bertelli and Martin Prokop.

Kenya is also hoping to plant 18 million trees across the Safari Rally route to celebrate the years the event has been out of the FIA series.

By   Alice Gworo

Leave a Reply