Home > Counties > Baringo > Musa Sirma recaptures Parliamentary seat after 15 Years

Musa Sirma recaptures Parliamentary seat after 15 Years

Former Eldama Ravine Member of Parliament (MP) and Minister for East Africa and Regional Cooperation, Musa Sirma, has recaptured the Eldama Ravine MP seat after 15 years absence.

Sirma who is UDA party sponsored, was declared winner after garnering 32,492 votes to clinch the seat that had been elusive in the last three elections amid lackluster performance by his four competitors.

Constituency Returning Officer, Dr. Kennedy Onditi, also announced the trailing pack of KANU’s Carol Jepkosgei Tallam who garnered 3,475, Kiprop Daniel Kipngetich (433), Ngaruiya Caleb Kipchirchir (782) and the runners-up N’getung Emanuel Bore (Independent) who amassed 10,299 votes.

Sirma lost the seat in 2007 and 2013 to Moses Lessonet before the latter switched to Baringo Gubernatorial seat this year.

Dr. Onditi also announced the results for Members of County Assembly from the Constituency’s Six wards where UDA swept all the six seats with Ravine’s Julies Ngotie having been elected unopposed.

The densely populated Mumberes Maji mazuri Ward was won by Kuria Solomon Kariuki of UDA with 4,005 votes amid stiff competition from Independent candidate, Saramei Daniel Kipkorir who garnered 3,596 votes.

Lembus Ward saw UDA’s Benjamin Koech retain the seat with 4,751 votes closely trailed by Independent candidate Victor Kipsang with 4,094. Another Independent candidate Isaac Chemitei garnered 158 votes while KANU’s Haron Kipkosgei Rotich tailed with 162 votes.

In Koibatek Ward UDA’s Robert Kiplagat Kipsang won with 3,467 votes, while Independent candidate Musa Cheruiyot Kipkurui emerged second with 2,590 votes. Anne Chematur Lagat of CCM party managed 30 votes.

Lembus Perkerra Ward maintained UDA’s dominance with Kennedy Benjamin Kiprono winning with 5,589 votes. He was trailed by independent’s Jepkonga Jeremiah Rerimoi.  KANU’s Kandie Sheila Jepchirchir got 111 votes, Independents’ Kipchirchir Nicholas, Kibiwot Kelvin and Lamek Kimaru garnered 24, 36 and 43 votes respectively.

Lawi Kipchumba closed the six wards with a win for UDA in Lembus Kwen ward in Eldama Ravine Constituency in the results declared at the Constituency Tallying centre in Baringo High School.

By Christopher Kiprop

Leave a Reply