Sunday, April 21, 2024
Home > Counties > Pareiyo Gets Narok North Seat

Pareiyo Gets Narok North Seat

Agnes Mataine Pareiyo (Jubilee) is the Member of Parliament Elect for Narok North

Constituency, making her the first woman to be elected in the county since the onset of devolution.

Pareiyo who has been serving as the Anti-Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) board chairlady since 2017 and was flying the Jubilee ticket was elected with 20,028 votes followed closely by Martin Kamwaro (Independent) who garnered 18,852 votes.

Others who were contesting were Allan Mengati (ODM) who got 8, 838, Symon Rotiken (Independent) 8,136, Rebecca Nanyu (TSP) 1, 537 and Sadera Kerimpoto (UDA) who managed 9, 348 votes.

The MP elect was handed a certificate at the Maasai Girls’ Secondary School tallying center by the Narok North Returning Officer Julius Okweta.

Pareyio, who once served as a civic leader in the defunct county council administration, promised to serve Narok people equally. The anti-FGM activist also promised to fight gender based violence during her tenure.

She replaces Moitalel Ole Kenta, who left the parliamentary race to vie for gubernatorial position. Ole Kenta has served the Narok North people for two terms since 2013.

At the same time, incumbent Narok East Member of Parliament Ken Aramat (UDA) has retained his seat for the third time after beating his close competitor Alfred Keriolale (ODM) with 13, 588 votes against 8,702 respectively.

Others who vied for the same seat were Lengues Kipas (Jubilee) who managed 8, 530 votes and Newton Mpaima (ANC) who scored 4, 087 votes.

By Ann Salaton

Leave a Reply