Home > Counties > Caleb Amisi retains Saboti parliamentary seat

Caleb Amisi retains Saboti parliamentary seat

Mr. Caleb Luyai Amisi of Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) has retained the Saboti parliamentary seat after he was declared the winner in a hotly contested race.

The results announced by the Independent Elections and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Returning Officer Mr. Kennedy Kibet at St. Joseph’s Girls Secondary School indicated Amisi garnered 25,469 votes out of the 53,498 total votes cast.

Amisi’s closest rival UDA’s Mr. Bernard Wambwa, who is a former Tuwani Member of County Assembly (MCA) got 12,392 votes.

The outgoing Trans Nzoia Senator Dr. Michael Mbito of Jubilee Party was third with 8,050 votes while Mr. Lazaro David Wafula of Democratic Alliance Party of Kenya (DAP-K) and Ford Kenya’s Joseph Pepela came fourth and fifth with 5,452 and 2,151 votes respectively.

Speaking to the journalists immediately after receiving his certificate, Amisi thanked voters in Saboti Constituency for what he termed as a show of confidence and allowing him another chance to serve them.

“It’s a joyful night for me and the people of Saboti for this historic victory. I want to thank the IEBC for contacting this exercise peacefully,” remarked the elated Amisi.

According to the Constituency’s election history, Amisi is the first MP to be voted in for a second term consecutively.

“We have broken the jinx of one term MP in Saboti. I am the first legislator to be voted twice. I must say Saboti has chosen development over tribalism,” he remarked.

Saboti has a total of 87,384 registered voters.

By Maurice Aluda

Leave a Reply