New faces to dominate Murang’a County Assembly  

Counties Editor's Pick Elections 2022 Murang'a

Only nine out of 35 members of Murang’a County Assembly have managed to come back after recently concluded elections.


Six of the members were elected in 2017 while the three served in the Assembly as nominated members.


Those who managed to be re-elected in August 9 elections include Francis Kibe (Ithiru), Peter Murigi (Muraka), Gerald Wambugu (Kamacharia), James Karanja Kabera (Kamahuha), Simon Wamwea (Ng’araria) and Morris Thuku (Kiru).


Others include Alex Ndunda (Ithanga), Caroline Njoroge (Kigumo) and Elizabeth Wambui (Kimorori/Wempa).


Njoroge, Ndunda and Wambui served in the previous assembly as nominated members.


Njoroge represented Kigumo Ward between 2013 and 2017 before she was defeated and fortunately nominated by Jubilee party to serve for a second term up to 2022. She was elected on an ANC ticket trouncing other eight candidates.


On his part Ndunda was elected on a PNU ticket, a party affiliated to Azimio –One Kenya Alliance. He garnered 2,864 votes against his closest rival, Esther Nyakio of UDA who got 2,697 votes. Ithanga Ward is in the lower parts of Gatanga Constituency.


By Bernard Munyao

Leave a Reply