New TSC commissioners sworn in

Counties Editor's Pick Education Nairobi

Chief Justice Martha Koome has sworn in five newly appointed Commissioners of the Teachers Service Commission (TSC), who will serve for a period of six years.

The five commissioners include Nicodemus Ojuma Anyang, Sharon Kahindi, Sharon Jelagat Kisire, Annceta Wafukho and Salesa Adano Abudo.

Speaking at the swearing-in ceremony held at the Supreme Court, Koome congratulated the appointed commissioners for having been bestowed with the responsibility of protecting and realizing Kenyans’ right to education.

The CJ asked the commissioners to collaborate with those in already office in rebuilding relationships with teachers in order to make Kenya a reference point in terms of education.

Highlighting the effects of Covid-19 in the education sector, Koome observed that students from vulnerable communities have suffered the most as they cannot migrate to virtual learning.

“The pandemic has exposed the flaws of the society and it is the responsibility of TSC Commissioners to ensure the education system leaves no group behind,” she stated.

The CJ urged TSC to look at the country’s education system and re-imagine education anew, saying their mandate requires them to work towards the realization of a quality education system that is accessible to all.

“The foundation of a society is anchored in the development of character which is moulded through education. Therefore, the oath which you have taken should guide you in your day-to-day operations,” said Koome.

The CJ further asked the Commissioners to adopt a consultative approach in decision making, while taking into account the interests of children.

Welcoming the Commissioners, TSC Chairperson Dr. Jamleck Muturi told them that their work is to serve the teachers and children with a view to taking their teaching and education into greater heights.

Muturi promised that the Commission will endeavor to give every child an equal chance to education regardless of one’s background and geographical location.

The Secretary, Legislation Affairs and Regulatory Compliance in the Office of the President, Jasper Mbiuki while offering his congratulatory remarks said the decisions made by TSC affect every household since the Commission is one of the most esteemed constitutional entities in the country.

“Appreciate the responsibility of being key anchors of education systems and make your contributions to the wellness of the country,” he said.

He urged the Commissioners to tap into the vastness of the human resources by promoting and employing teachers fairly.

By Moffin Opilio

Leave a Reply