Monday, February 26, 2024
Home > Counties > Nyong’o bows to pressure, nominates three women to cabinet

Nyong’o bows to pressure, nominates three women to cabinet

Kisumu governor Prof. Anyang Nyong’o has yielded to pressure from Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) and nominated three more women to fill County Executive Committee Members (CECM) slots.

This brings the total number of women in his ten-member cabinet to four after weeks of pressure from women and CSOs.

In his first list of nominees released on 7th October 2022, Nyong’o had picked seven County Executive Committee Members (CECMs) with only one woman making it to the list.

The governor also handed over the remaining three positions to three of the male nominees in an acting capacity, sparking public outcry from CSOs and women.

The nominees included Dr. Gregory Ganda, Medical Services, Public Health and Sanitation, George Okong’o, Finance, Economic Planning and ICT, Kennedy Hongo, lands, Physical Planning, Housing and Urban Development, Farida Salim, Trade, Tourism, Industry and Marketing, Salmon Orimba, Infrastructure, Energy and Public Works, Ken Onyango, Agriculture, Fisheries and Livestock Development and John Awiti, Education, Technical Training, Innovation and Social Services.

From the list, Salmon Orimba, George Okong’o and John Awiti were to act as County Executive Committee Members (CECMs) in Environment, Public Service and Sports respectively.

The CSOs faulted Nyong’o for the skewed nominations asking him to give the remaining slots to women, youth, and PWDs to enhance inclusivity in the government.

The Employment and Labour Relations Court in Kisumu suspended the vetting of the seven CECM nominees pending the hearing and determination of a petition filed by a voter.

The ruling was issued on Monday by Lady Justice Christine Baari after a virtual hearing of the application filed by Evans Otieno Oloo seeking to quash the nomination of the seven.

The petitioner who listed the governor, Kisumu County Government and the County Assembly as respondents argued that the list did not meet the gender threshold adding that special groups were not considered.

To quell the pressure, on Sunday Nyong’o nominated Judith Oluoch, Public Service, County Administration and Participatory Development, Marylene Yanzar, Water, Environment, Natural Resources and Climate Change, and former Nominated Member of County Assembly (MCA) Beatrice Odongo for Sports, Culture, Gender, and Youth Affairs.

Chief Officer in Charge of Communication John Oywa said the governor has forwarded the full cabinet list to the county assembly for vetting.

By Chris Mahandara

Leave a Reply