Home > covid 19 > The Country records 12 deaths today due to COVID 19

The Country records 12 deaths today due to COVID 19

Some 397 people on Tuesday tested positive for Covid-19 bringing the total number of Covid-19 cases to 14,168 from 259,998 tests so far done in the country.

The Health Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS), Dr. Rashid Aman said that out of the new cases 389 are Kenyans while eight are foreigners.

“Out of today’s number, 236 are male while 161 are female and the youngest is a one-year-old infant and the oldest is aged 90 years,” Dr. Rashid said.

The CAS also announced that 642 patients have recovered bringing the total number of recoveries to 6,258. Recoveries of 587 patients were from home-based care while 55 were discharged from hospital,” he said

On a sad note, Dr. Rashid said that yesterday 12 people succumbed to the disease bringing the total number of fatalities to 250.

During the presser, he asked health care workers to give priority to the elderly and ensure they find out any underlying condition they may have. The medics, he added, should also advice the elderly about maintaining healthy living by eating food that builds body immunity.

“This segment of older persons of our population who are above 60 years are 2.6 million and at a high risk in terms of susceptibility to Covid-19,” he said.

Dr. Rashid lauded celebrities and media personalities who are also coming out to pronounce their status saying this was one way to destigmatize the disease and recognize it can affect anyone and if handled well the infected would recover from it.

According to yesterday’s numbers, Nairobi still recorded the highest at 239, followed by Kiambu 33, Machakos 27, Nyeri 17, Busia 16, Nakuru 12, Mombasa 12, Kajiado 10, Migori 8, Uasin Gishu 8, Kericho 5, Narok 3, Laikipia 3, Kisii, Kisumu, Lamu and Nyandarua had one case each.

The county of Nairobi has cases distributed in Westlands 22, Langata, 21, Makadara, 21 Embakasi East 19 , Dagoretti North 19 , Embakasi West 18, Kasarani 15, Embakasi South 14, Roysambu 13, Kibra 12, Starehe 12, Dagoreti South 10, Embakasi Central 10, Kamukunji 10, Embakasi North 9, Ruraraka 8 and Mathare seven.

By  Wangari Ndirangu

Leave a Reply