Saturday, February 24, 2024
Home > Editor's Pick > Three schools closed down in Nyamira South Sub County

Three schools closed down in Nyamira South Sub County

Three  schools in Nyamira South Sub County have been closed down due to non-compliance to safety operational regulation standards and 13 others given an ultimatum of two weeks to ensure they make necessary changes as advised by ministry of education or also be closed down.

The  Sub County Director of Education, Leonard Kiruja confirmed to KNA on Tuesday that the three schools, Alimo preparatory, St. Mathews preparatory and Inuka primary  were ordered to close down immediately for they were not duly registered by the ministry of education to operate.

“The three institutions had not been registered by the ministry of education to operate and the teachers who were handling the leaners were not registered by Teachers Service Commission (TSC) putting to question the quality of service they rendered to leaners,” the director said.

“The three schools did not have class KCPE candidates and parents of all the affected learners were advised to enroll their children to nearby public primary schools, which have complied with the all the safety regulations to ensure their children learn from a secure environment,” Kiruja explained.

The director affirmed that they will implement the directive from the Ministry of Education of ensuring that the safety of learners in both public and private schools was strictly followed to deter any unanticipated catastrophes which may befall vulnerable learners as it has been in the past.

By  Deborah  Bochere

Leave a Reply