Voters defy party loyalty as they elect leaders

Counties Editor's Pick Elections 2022 Governor Turkana Woman Rep.

Turkana county voters disregarded party loyalty and voted for leaders of their choice in the top county seats.

Jeremiah Lomurkai of ODM was elected governor, James Lomenen of Jubilee was elected Senator and Cecilia Ng’itit of UDA was elected Woman Representative.

Lomurkai garnered 66,631 votes to beat John Munyes of Jubilee and John Lodepe of UDA who polled 41,866 and 33,639 votes respectively. Joseph Atol of Mabadiliko party managed 1,352 votes.

In the senatorial seat Lomenen garnered 58,334 votes followed by Benedict Lokamar of UDA who polled 34,168 votes and Joseph Ekalale of ODM who got 29,488 votes.

With regards to county Woman Representative Cecilia Ng’itit polled 47,195 votes, Audan Lokala of ODM garnered 43,628 votes, Aletia Susan of Jubilee got 43,415 votes and Pauline Akai, an Independent, trailed with 7,931 votes.

Addressing the press after they were awarded their certificates at Turkana University college, the three leaders pledged to work together to develop the county.

“The people of Turkana have voted for us as individual leaders without looking at the parties, we owe it to them to work together to meet their expectations,” said Ng’itit.

Lomurkai pledged to prioritize the fight against graft as soon as he assumes office.

“As a county government we shall strive to do the right thing so that EACC will have no work to do in our county unlike in the past where they camped here like their home,” said Lomurkai.

At the same time, Lomurkai said he was keen to start on a new slate and pledged not to pursue those county officials facing various misdeeds.

Lomurkai, who has been ascending the political ladder beginning as an MCA in 2013, then got elected MP for Loima in 2017 and now governor-elect, said he would delegate many duties to his deputy Dr John Erus as opposed to the past practice where deputy governors have not been left without duties.

The newly elected leaders and those who lost in the contest lauded the IEBC led by county returning officer Amos Obonyo for conducting a free and fair election.

They also congratulated the county security team for ensuring that the election was conducted in a peaceful environment.

Gubernatorial candidates John Munyes, John Lodepe have conceded defeat. Woman county MP candidates Susan Aletia, Audan Lokala also conceded defeat and congratulated the winner.

“Turkana County has 0.6 gender inequality index one of the highest in the country, we are asking the newly elected county Woman Representative to bring us together and we assure you of our support,” said Aletia.

By Peter Gitonga

Leave a Reply