Thursday, September 21, 2023
Home > Counties > Youthful faces dominate parliamentary seats

Youthful faces dominate parliamentary seats

Members of National Assembly seats have attracted new faces with the United Democratic Alliance party taking center stage.

Five out of the six constituency seats in the county were won by new entrants all in UDA except for Tinderet Constituency, where the current MP Julius Melly retained his seat also under UDA.

Josses Lelmengit, 28, won the Emgwen parliamentary seat garnering 34,803 votes against Dr. Tecla Tum’s 13, 194. Dr. Tum who was eyeing to retain her seat unsuccessfully ran under independent.

Lelmengit, a civil engineer and businessman, comes with a youthful aura promising to lift the many burdens faced by the youth including unemployment, low living standards.

“I resonate with the youthful population and will work towards creating meaningful projects to create employment for the youth and uplift their standards,” said Lelmengit.

Bernard Kitur, MP elect for Nandi hills constituency also under the UDA, put up a spirited fight to clinch the seat with 23,503 votes and his competitor Alfred Keter, Independent, following closely with 18,037 votes.

Four trips by the UDA party leadership to the constituency pre-election worked for his win otherwise which Keter, could have easily overpowered him, considering his following.

Keter, a two-time legislature had earlier faced an uphill task during the nominations, where he was awarded a certificate, victory to last shortly then withdrawn.

The former legislator has since conceded defeat. “The people of Nandi Hills needed change, that’s why they gave me a chance to serve them,” said an elated Kitur after his win.

In Mosop Constituency, Abraham Kirwa beat Vincent Tuwei who has served for a term. Kirwa garnered 46, 209 votes to win with a landslide against Tuwei’s 14,575.

The businessman who has spent many years in the US said he comes back with a vast experience that will help him propel the Constituency in matters development.

Maryanne Kitany of UDA clinched the Aldai Constituency parliamentary seat garnering 42,015 votes against Cornelly Serem, Independent, with 13, 309 votes.  Kitany, a former Deputy President William Ruto Chief of Staff beat Serem who has served for two terms, 2013-2022.

Once sworn in, she will be the second female MP in Aldai Constituency after former head of Civil Service Dr. Sally Kosgei who served between 2008-2013.

In Chesumei, Paul Biego is the MP elect after winning with a landslide garnering 52,920 votes. He trounced his immediate competitor Abednego Kipkogei, Independent, who got 1,655.

Wilson Kogo, the immediate former MP did not defend his seat.

Biego said he is a solution based leader and will embark on enhancing matters education through efficiency and transparency in the management of the Constituency resources.

Cynthia Muge is the women representative elect after garnering 275, 500 votes followed by Stella Rutto 22,732 and Truphena Korir 7,922. The seat was previously held by Dr. Tecla Tum who chose not to defend it but ran for Emgwen Constituency.

Muge, 29, aggressively gained the peoples endorsement to clinch the seat under UDA. In 2017, she ran on an Independent ticket to clinch the Member of County Assembly for Kilibwoni Ward in Emgwen Constituency.

“I represent the women of this nation, I’m set to bring hope and change towards uplifting the women in this county and the country at large,” said Muge after being declared winner.

By Bethsheba Abuya

Leave a Reply