Thursday, May 30, 2024
Home > Counties > Emali Municipality Board Members Sworn in

Emali Municipality Board Members Sworn in

Emali Municipality in Makueni County is set to begin its operations after the swearing in of board members today.

Speaking during the swearing in Ceremony at Wote office, Governor Mutula Kilonzo Jr. said the new municipality will boost the County’s own source of revenue.

“Emali municipality will be the biggest revenue earner because of its strategic location along Nairobi – Mombasa highway besides being a gateway to Tanzania through Loitokitok,” said Mutula.

He said his administration is working towards promoting Emali as Makueni’s economic hub.

“The Municipality has already been approved for Kenya Urban Support Program (KUSP) funding to improve basic infrastructure,” he said.

He added that the Municipality will benefit from enough water supply from the second Nolturesh water supply line from Kilimanjaro which is being developed by the National Government.

The eight board members include Anne Muthusi, Charles Musau, Dominic Matheka, Anderson Matheka, Mary Muthama and Architect Stanley Kyalo.

Makueni County Executive Committee Member (CECM) in charge of Lands and Urban Planning Dr Sonnia Nzilani with her Chief Officer Jackson Daudi are also Members.

By Ronald Rono

Leave a Reply