Monday, April 22, 2024
Home > Counties > Former Kisauni MP back in The National Assembly

Former Kisauni MP back in The National Assembly

Former Kisauni MP Rashid Juma Bedzimba has clinched the seat after five years’ hiatus.

Bedzimba of Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) won the seat with 34,747 votes.

He was followed by youthful lawyer, Mbarak Mbarak Hamid of United Democratic (UDA), who garnered 12,336 votes.

Independent candidate Gambo Beatrice Mbodze, who was the only female candidate in the race, scored 6,533 votes.

The returning officer Ibrahim Wario declared that Bedzimba duly elected as the Kisauni MP.

“I declare Mr Rashid Juma Bedzimba as the dully elected member of the national assembly for constituency,” added Wario amid jubilation and celebration for the winner’s supporters.

Wario issued certificate of the victory to the MP elect at the constituency tallying centre within Shanzu Teachers Training College.

Security was tight throughout the counting and tallying process with police and election officers moving ballot boxes from the tallying centre to a secure room after conclusion of the exercise.

In his speech, the MP elect thanked the electorates for giving him an opportunity to represent them in the parliament. “I thank the almighty God for giving me another chance to represent my people. I also thank the electorates for showing faith and confidence in me,” he added.

The MP elect called on the residents to maintain peace after electioneering period. He hailed the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) for conducting free, fair and credible elections.

“Despite few teething issues, the elections were credible and fair and I commend them for doing an incredible job,” he added.

Kisauni constituency has 135,276 registered voters with 217 polling stations including three prisons. The seat has attracted 8 MP seat candidate with five candidates getting less than 200 votes.

By Galgalo Bocha

Leave a Reply