Home > Counties > Government unveils new Sub-Counties in Tharaka Nithi

Government unveils new Sub-Counties in Tharaka Nithi

The government has unveiled two new administrative units in Tharaka Nithi County as a way of bringing services closer to the people in the vast Tharaka South and Maara Sub-Counties.

Interior Cabinet Secretary, Dr Fred Matiang’i, confirmed that the two new Sub-Counties, namely Chiakariga and Muthambi have been carved out of Tharaka South and Maara Sub-Counties.

Speaking while presiding over the installation of the first Deputy County Commissioner (DCC) for Chiakariga Sub-County, Dr Matiang’i confirmed that even the new Muthambi Sub-County has been gazzeted and added that by February 22nd, the Chiakariga County headquarters will be fully operational like any other sub-county in the country.

“By the 22nd of this month, all the requisite support services including additional security officers will have been availed to the Chiakariga Sub-County headquarters which will enable the expected recruitment of police officers to be carried out in this place, ” said Matiang’i.

Dr Matiang’i called on both elected leaders and government officers in the country to embrace unity and reciprocal respect displayed by leaders in Tharaka Nithi County that has enabled the operationalization of the new administrative units and hence bringing services closer to mwananchi.

Present during the event was his cabinet colleague Peter Munya who called on the residents of Tharaka Nithi to appreciate the efforts by President Uhuru Kenyatta that have brought many development projects into the county.

Others present during the event were Tharaka Nithi Governor, Muthomi Njuki, Tharaka Senator, Professor Kithure Kindiki,Tharaka and Maara Constituencies Members of Parliament, Gitonga Murugara and Kareke Mbiuki respectively and former Chuka University Vice- Chancellor Professor Erastus Njoka among others.

By David Mutwiri

Leave a Reply