Tuesday, October 3, 2023
Home > Counties > IEBC relocates 2 tallying centers for Mombasa Governorship poll

IEBC relocates 2 tallying centers for Mombasa Governorship poll

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) have relocated two tallying centers for Mombasa gubernatorial election on Monday.

The two affected centers have been relocated from schools to avoid interfering with lessons.

Election materials being prepared for dispatch to various polling stations ahead of Monday’s Mombasa gubernatorial elections. Photo by Haniel Miguongo

The tallying center for Mvita constituency has been moved from Allidina Visram High School to Swahili Pot while that of Jomvu constituency shifts from Jomvu primary school to Mikindani Social Hall.

According to Mombasa County IEBC Elections Manager Swalha Ibrahim the decision follows the directive of the Ministry of Education that schools should not be used as tallying centres to avoid interference with the learning process.

The government last week declared Monday a public holiday in areas where the delayed elections would be held.

Briefing the media on Sunday at the Commission’s office in Kizingo, Ms. Ibrahim who is also the County’s Returning Officer says all arrangements for the delayed gubernatorial election in the county have been completed.

She said all the election materials are ready and will be dispatched to respective polling centers on Sunday night.

The election for the governorship post in Mombasa and Kakamega counties was suspended on August 8, 2022 a day before the general election by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) over ballot paper mix-up.

“As far as IEBC is concerned we are good to go,” she said, adding that the commission was prepared to deliver a free, fair and credible election.

She urged the electorate to come out in large numbers and participate as every arrangement has been made to ensure peaceful elections.

She said the electoral body expects all the polling stations would be open by 6 am adding that the delays that occurred in some polling centres during the August 9 general election due to logistical challenges would not arise.

The Electoral body has cleared eight candidates to contest for the Governor position in Mombasa to replace Hassan Joho who is retiring after serving two terms allowed under the constitution.

Those aspiring for the county’s top seat are former Mvita Member of Parliament Abdulswamad Shariff Nassir (ODM), former Senator Hassan Omar Sarai (UDA) and the outgoing Mombasa Deputy Governor William Kingi (PAA).

Others are Daniel Munga Kitsao (Independent), Hezron Awiti (VDP), Said Abdalla (Usawa Kwa Wote), Shafii Makazi (UPIA) and Antony Chitavi (UDP).

Mombasa County has a total of 641,913 registered voters and 1,041 polling centers spread across six constituencies of Mvita, Likoni, Nyali, Kisauni, Changamwe and Jomvu and 30 electoral wards.

By Mohamed Hassan

Leave a Reply