Sunday, September 24, 2023
Home > Counties > Incumbent Governor poised to retain seat

Incumbent Governor poised to retain seat

Vihiga Governor Dr. Wilber Ottichilo is poised to retain his seat after tallied results from four out of the five constituencies indicated he is leading with an unassailable margin.

The results from Vihiga, Luanda, Hamisi and Emuhaya constituencies indicate that Dr. Ottichilo, the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party flagbearer, has so far garnered 69, 794 votes against his closest challenger Moses Akaranga of Progressive Party of Kenya (PPK) who has 26, 899 votes.

Voting results from Sabatia constituency, with 70, 875 registered voters and a turn-out of 52 per cent (36,855) are yet to be announced hence holding back the official announcement of the outcome.

He is the home County Governor to the Kenya Kwanza (KK) coalition co-principal and Amani National Congress (ANC) party leader Musalia Mudavadi whose candidate Alfred Agoi trails at a distant fourth with 11, 140 votes after George Khaniri of United Democratic Party (UDP) who has so far garnered 24, 132 votes.

Agoi is the immediate Sabatia Member of Parliament (MP) and a close confidant of Mudavadi while Khaniri is the two-time immediate senator of the area.

Francis Ominde, the former County Secretary, is at the tail-end of the county Chief Executive Officer (CEO) race with 1,828 votes.

Meanwhile, the incumbent Charles Gimose has retained the Hamisi constituency seat on the ANC ticket after garnering 22, 621 votes against his closest challenger ODM’s Castro Lubanga who got 8,241 votes.

Ernest Kagesi has also successfully defended his Vihiga Constituency seat on the ANC ticket with 13,890 votes, followed by Ken Omusedi of ODM with 10,551 while UDA’s Yusuf Chanzu came third after polling 4,223 votes.

By Sammy Mwibanda

Leave a Reply