Home > Counties > Kitany becomes the second female MP in Aldai Constituency 

Kitany becomes the second female MP in Aldai Constituency 

Marianne Kitany overcame gender hurdles to become the second female Member of Parliament for Aldai Constituency after former head of civil service Dr. Sally Kosgei who reigned between 2008 to 2013.

The incoming MP who contested on a UDA ticket garnered 42,015 votes against incumbent MP Cornelly Serem who polled 13,309 votes and vied as an independent candidate after losing to Kitany in UDA nominations.

Other contestants were Nolega Nandonya of ANC with 1,676 votes, Jacob Kipkorir, an Independent candidate polled 801 votes and Thomas Kipchirchir Samoei of KANU who got 668 votes.

According to Constituency elections manager Frank Boinett, Kitany was officially declared winner after collating all the votes cast in the six wards in Aldai Constituency.

Boinett observed that the exercise took place smoothly in Aldai.

“So far Aldai elections have not been marred by any challenges and I therefore declare Marianne Kitany winner after amassing a total of 42,015 votes which is the highest as compared to the other contestants,” he stated.

Serem who contested as an independent candidate after losing in the UDA party nominations represented Aldai Constituency from 2013- 2022.

Aldai Constituency has 78,005 registered voters out of the 406,288 registered voters in Nandi County.

By Ruth Mainye

Leave a Reply