Kajiado holds its first senatorial debate

Counties Kajiado Politics

Aspirants vying for the Senatorial seat in Kajiado County on Friday evening took the stage to present their agenda to the residents at a debate held at the African Nazarene University.

The debate organized by various organizations and local media houses was conceived with the goal of enabling voters make informed choices and vote in persons who will represent their interests at the senate.

Six aspirants are battling it out in the August polls for the Kajiado Senate seat which is currently being held by Hon. Philip Mpayeei (Jubilee).

Among those who attended the debate which was aired live on different platforms include: Gideon Toimasi (Wiper), Former Kajiado West MP Moses Sakuda (Jubilee), Samuel Seki (UDA) and Rev. Sonia Gitau Tilda (Usawa kwa Wote).

Nominated Senator Judy Pareno who is seeking the senate seat on an ODM ticket and Peter ole Nkeri (TSP) failed to attend the debate.

The aspirants were given a chance to air their views on various issues of major concern to Kajiado residents among them revenue allocation, human-wildlife conflict, land, service delivery and oversight of revenue expenditure.

Each aspirant was given time to articulate their manifesto to a selected audience of the county’s electorates drawn from religious organizations, professionals, women and youth among other groups.

The debate which ran from 8:00 PM- 10:00 PM was held in English, Kiswahili and Maasai language.

Meanwhile, all systems are in place for the Kajiado Gubernatorial debate which will be held on June 25.

Four aspirants will be seeking to out-sit Governor Joseph Ole Lenku who will be defending his seat on an ODM ticket.

Among the aspirants are former Governor David Nkedienye (Jubilee), Katoo ole Metito (UDA) and Ambrose Ng’ang’a (Independent).

The Gubernatorial debate is organized by a Technical Working Group gazette by ICT Cabinet Secretary Joe Mucheru.

The group chaired by Journalists for Human Rights program manager Sammy Muraya is mandated to coordinate technical collaboration between community and local media outlets in organizing the debates

Muraya will be deputised by Phyllis Wakiaga while Members of the Group are Jonah Ngari, Roly Davila, Stephen Kagongo, Simaloi Dajom, Rose Wakio, Leo Mutisya, Joseph Kipkoech Susan Karago, Joel Karanja, Vincent Ateya, Kevin Nyangweso, Tom Mboya, and Martin Maasai.

The Media Council of Kenya led by CEO David Omwoyo will act as the secretariat of the election’s debates coordinator.

The Group shall carry out an assessment of the ability of the community and local language media to carry out gubernatorial, senatorial and women Representatives debates ahead of the August 2022 elections.

It shall also co-ordinate technical collaboration between community and local language media outlets in organizing joint debates.

The debates are being held countrywide in 24 counties which were selected based on different factors ranging from resource distribution, gender parity, party politics among others.

By Rop Janet





Leave a Reply