Saturday, April 20, 2024
Home > Counties >  Kangongo Bowen clinches Marakwet East MP seat

 Kangongo Bowen clinches Marakwet East MP seat

David Kangongo Bowen has been voted in as Marakwet East member of National Assembly after getting 16,185 votes of the 43,672 votes casted.

Bowen of UDA party returns for a third term after beating closest contender Lawrence Mutwol who garnered 15,864 votes.

The results were announced by Marakwet East Returning Officer, Dominic Leparmarai.

Other contestants included Edwin Kisang who garnered 559 votes, Abraham Telel 403 votes and Nixon Yego 68 votes.

There were 33,155 valid votes and 316 ballots spoiled.

In the presidential poll William Samoei Ruto garnered 31,880 of the votes cast, followed by Raila Amollo Odinga with 735 votes.

Prof George Wajackoya got 42 votes and David Mwaure Waihiga got 29 votes.

Total valid votes for the presidential poll was 32,686 and 686 spoilt ballots.

By Rennish Okong’o

Leave a Reply