Friday, May 24, 2024
Home > Counties > Lugari, Likuyani constituencies seats painted orange

Lugari, Likuyani constituencies seats painted orange

The Orange Democratic Movement has clinched both Likuyani and Lugari Member of Parliaments seats in a move seen as successful party campaigns in a hotly contested 2022 General Election.

In Likuyani Constituency, Innocent Mugabe of ODM a new entrant in politics, pulled a surprise when he floored region seasoned politician Dr. Enoch Kibunguchy (Ford Kenya).

Mugabe bagged majority 17,534 votes against his close competitor Kibunguchy’s 13,382 a situation that has left many wondering the tactics employed by the MP elect to send home the experienced competitor.

According to official results released by Constituency Returning Officer at Moi Girls Nangili Secondary school, Mr Fredrick Odenge, the MP-elect emerged victorious with the difference between the two being 4,161 votes.

Kibunguchy who has served Likuyani constituency for two consecutive terms after also serving as Lugari MP between 2002 – 2007 was defending his seat for the third time with some of his supporters praising his outstanding development record during his terms.

Nabii Daraja Nabwera is a new MP-elect, Lugari Constituency after vying unsuccessfully in 2007, 2013 and 2017. Nabwera (ODM) lost in primaries to Evans Musungu in 2007, also attempted in 2013 general election (ODM) but emerged second after Ayub Savula defeated him.

He made his third stab at the Lugari MP Seat in 2017 but again lost to Savula who is now deputising Fernandes Barasa in quest for Kakamega County Governor in a controversial election which some of his supporters claim his victory was stolen.

Nabwera did not surrender his dream as Lugari MP still in ODM Party when he was given the mantle again in 2022 general election.

In results announced by Constituency Returning Officer Jeremiah Kerich at Quakers Church, Lumakanda, Nabii emerged victorious after defeating 11 other competitors with 23,159 votes followed by his close competitor Isaac Andabwa (DAP-K) who got 11,086 votes.

Alex Atingo (ANC) became third with 6,008 voters and Bryan Liseche (UDP) also new entrant in politics came distant number four when he bagged 5,162 votes.

The constituency has 86,908 registered voters with total valid votes, 51,829 rejected votes being 907.

In presidential race the Azimio la Umoja presidential candidate Raila Odinga garnered 36,606 votes while is main competitor Kenya Kwanza William Ruto got 15,025 votes with David Mwaure and George Wajackoya managed 133 and 298 votes respectively.

Presidential results in Likuyani showed that Azimio la Umoja presidential candidate Raila Odinga also took lead with 32, 624 votes while his close competitor William Samoei Ruto of Kenya Kwanza managed 9, 361. David Mwaure got 108 votes with Wajackoya managing 176 votes.

Oparanya who has outstanding development records in his two term as the governor pleaded with Lugari and Likuyani Constituency voters to vote Azimio la Umoja leaders especially ODM aspirants.

By Geoffrey Satia

Leave a Reply