Saturday, April 20, 2024
Home > Counties > Narok Maasai council of elders choose their leaders

Narok Maasai council of elders choose their leaders

Former Narok Town Council Chairman Mr. Keleina Ole Nchoe is the new chairperson of the Narok Maasai council of elders.

Ole Nchoe emerged the winner after garnering 59 votes out of the 60 votes cast in his favour after his only opponent Kasaine Ole Eshoo walked out of the meeting with a host of delegates supporting him.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) conducted the voting exercise where 11 delegates drawn from each of the six sub counties voted in a secret ballot.

Narok County Commissioner Evans Achoki and his security team who presided over the elections declared Ole Nchoe the winner.

            Also in attendance were the County Police Commander Kizito Motoro and the Narok County Pastors’ fellowship members led by their chairperson Reverend Peter Nakola.

This is the first time the elders from the seven Maa clans namely: Purko, Loita, Ildamat, Kikonyokie, Moitalek, Siria and Uasin Gishu met to carry out the exercise that is expected to end the long time leadership wrangles in the council.

In his acceptance speech, Ole Nchoe, who hails from the larger Purko clan, stated that he will major in uniting the Maasai communities from Narok, Kajiado, Samburu, and Baringo counties so that they can speak in one voice.

“My main job is ensuring that all the Maa speaking people are united and move in one direction in all aspects. I will also work closely with the government of the day,” he reiterated.

At the same time, the new elected chairman asked the Maa communities to support the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) saying it will bring more goodies to the counties.

He called on politicians to respect the government of the day saying those who were interested in politicking in the land should do it with a lot of respect to the president.

Others elected in office were Mzee Ole Maki from the Moitalek clan who became the council secretary and John Ole Letoluo from Purko community who was chosen as the treasurer.

The County Commissioner asked the new elected members to help in fighting Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) and assist in resolving land disputes that are rampant in the county.

“I ask you leaders to help us eradicate FGM by the end of this year as the president directed us to finish the act by the year 2022,” said Achoki.

At the same time, the church leaders called on the elected officials to act as role models to the members of the society by portraying maturity and love for everyone.

However, he warned the elders from taking cultural practices to the church saying this could easily compromise the standards of the religious institution.

Narok North Member of Parliament Moitalel Ole Kenta lauded the voting process saying it was free and fair.

The second term MP said the new officials will play an important role in directing and representing the community on national politics.

He asked the leaders not to be biased when carrying out their activities advising them to stand on the truth regardless of the clan or political affiliation of the society.

Ole Eshoo who walked out of the voting process disputed the elections saying all the elders were not involved in the exercise hence he will be forced to move to court.

by Ann Salaton

Leave a Reply