Saturday, February 24, 2024
Home > Counties > Nyamira Governor nominates former MP his Deputy

Nyamira Governor nominates former MP his Deputy

Nyamira County Governor Amos Nyaribo on Wednesday nominated former West Mugirango constituency Member of Parliament Dr. James Ondicho Gesami as his Deputy pending approval from the Assembly.

Addressing the media in his boardroom on Wednesday afternoon, Governor Nyaribo said that he decided to pick Dr. Gesami owing to his track record while serving as MP for West Mugirango Constituency.

“Pursuant to article 182 of the 2010 Constitution of Kenya, section 12, 32 (c) and (d) and the County government amendment act, I hereby nominate Dr. James Ondicho Gesami for vetting and approval by County Assembly for the appointment as the deputy governor of Nyamira County,” said Nyaribo.

At the same time, Nyaribo nominated 10 people to be County Executive Committee Members (CECMs) for vetting and approval by the County Assembly.

Among them were Emily Moraa Ongaga, a daughter to the late Governor John Nyagarama who will take the Finance, ICT and Economic planning.

Jones Omwenga, who was dropped by the former governor late John Nyagarama, makes a comeback to head the Roads, Public Works and Development.

Public Service Management will be headed by Thomas Nyariki who has been serving as a Deputy County Secretary.

Environment, Water, Mining and Natural Resources will be managed by Thomas Ondieki while Trade, Industry, Tourism and Cooperative Development to be headed by Stephen Momanyi.

Gender, Sports, Culture and Social Services will be headed by Dr. Grace Nyamongo who was an aspirant for Nyamira County MP in the 2017 general elections, while Harrison Momanyi was proposed to take Education and Vocational Training docket.

Only three CECMs out of 10 made it back to Governor Nyaribo’s cabinet. They are Health Services CECM Ms. Gladys Momanyi who served in the Nyagarama government as Education CECM. Peris Mong’are for Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries who retains in the same capacity and Samwel Maiko who will head the departments of Lands, Housing and Urban Development headed the departments of Water, Environment, Mining and Natural Resources in the Nyagarama regime.

Those who failed to make a comeback are Mr. Douglas Bosire who headed the Health Services docket, John Omanwa (Finance and Economic Planning), Johnston Ndege for Trade, Industry, Tourism and Cooperative Development and Public Service Management department’s Benard Osumo among others.

In his nomination list, no youth was listed to take the CEC role. “We shall consider the youths into the cabinet if I will be elected as Governor from 2022,” Nyaribo said.

Governor Amos Nyaribo was sworn in as Nyamira County’s second governor on 29th December last year after the death of John Nyagarama and declared vacant the seats of the CECMs two days later.

By Deborah Bochere

Leave a Reply