Home > Counties > Nyandarua Police Seal Off Kenyatta Road to Restrict Movement

Nyandarua Police Seal Off Kenyatta Road to Restrict Movement

Police in Nyandarua have mounted roadblocks along the Kenyatta Road that transverse the County to Thika town in Kiambu County as matatu operators seek alternative route to Nairobi metropolitan.
According to the Nyandarua County Commissioner (CC), Boaz Cherutich, the officers received a tip-off that some operators seeking to go in and out of Nairobi had opted to use the route hence the erection of the barricades.
While confirming that security officers had on Wednesday intercepted a matatu that was ferrying passengers from Nakuru County through the road to Nairobi, the Administrator noted that the roadblocks were meant to cordon-off the Nairobi Metropolitan as the government had restricted in and out travels from the City.
“Following government directive restricting in and out flow of traffic from Nairobi metropolitan, we have decided to place several roadblocks along the road to bar those trying to use the ‘panya route’ to gain access to the City.
Our officers have since been able to barricade a vehicle that was carrying passengers from Nakuru to Nairobi and ordered it to return till the 21 days restriction days are over,” said the CC.
He called on Kenyans to obey all governments directives including hand-washing, observing curfew and maintaining social distance, noting that they were all geared towards keeping coronavirus at bay.
On his part, County Police Commander, Dr. Gideon Ngumi, said only those vehicles offering essential services will be allowed through the route to the city.
“The roadblocks will be manned by the police all day and night and only essential services vehicles will be allowed to access the route to Nairobi,” said the Police boss.
He appealed to the public to cooperate and help the government in the war against the coronavirus pandemic.
Earlier in the week, President Uhuru Kenyatta banned all road, rail and air travel into and out of the Nairobi metropolitan, Mombasa, Kilifi and Kwale counties as a measure aimed at controlling spread of Covid-19 disease.
By Jesse Mwitwa

Leave a Reply