Phase II of CBC infrastructure development programme commences

Counties Editor's Pick Education Isiolo

The Government has begun implementing the Second Phase of construction of the CBC classrooms in support of the new education curriculum in the country.

In the First Phase of the infrastructure development programme, Isiolo County completed construction of all the 31 classrooms for the targeted institutions, while about 6,500 classes were earmarked for implementation across the country.

The government plans to fund construction of 10,000 classrooms by the end of the Second Phase of the programme which will take three months, same as the First Phase.

The infrastructure programme is being implemented under the Kenya Economic Stimulus Package as directed by President Uhuru Kenyatta on October 20, 2021.

Speaking during a meeting of the Isiolo Sub-County evaluation committee Sub-County Director of Education, Ms Safia Abdow, said the projects will commence without delay and be completed within three months.

She said only Isiolo Barracks and Waso Secondary schools benefited with PhaseII classes’ project each getting two and one classrooms respectively in the Sub-County.

The Committee resolved to have the projects advertised immediately and bidders given 14 days to register and submit the necessary quotation documents for opening within the cited period.

Ms. Safia observed that the members of the Committee charged with the supervisory role had adequate experience from the First Phase projects understanding and the reduction of the workload from 15 to three classes will be easy to handle.

She said the education office would closely work with school managers, all stakeholders and the contractors to hasten the completion of the projects being part of preparation for the junior secondary under the new education curriculum.

Under the CBC programme primary schools will go up to Grade Six as the Junior Secondary will include Grades Seven, Eight and Nine.

The students will transit to Senior Secondary for Grades 10, 11 and 12 before proceeding to pursue different course programmes at the University for three years.

By David Nduro

Leave a Reply