Home > Counties > UDA leaders pitch camp in Kandara ahead of by-election

UDA leaders pitch camp in Kandara ahead of by-election

Leaders allied to the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party pitched camp at the Kandara constituency Monday to drum up support for their parliamentary candidate, ahead of the forthcoming by-election slated for Thursday.

Led by Murang’a County Governor Irungu Kang’ata and the Women Representative Betty Maina, the leaders urged local residents to vote for the party candidate Chege Njuguna.

The seat fell vacant after the immediate former MP Alice Wahome resigned last October following her appointment as the Cabinet Secretary for Water, Sanitation and Irrigation.

They said voting in a UDA candidate would be the only way of thanking the Kenya Kwanza government for appointing two members of the cabinet from Murang’a County.

Kang’ata praised Njuguna saying he was a vibrant leader and with a huge potential to continue with the various development programmes initiated by Wahome, who prior to her appointment had served the area for two consecutive terms as MP.

“We have a suitable candidate and we appeal to the people of Kandara to elect him as their next member of parliament,” said Kang’ata during a campaign trail in parts of the constituency.

On her part, Maragua MP Mary Waithira who was in the campaign team, exuded confidence that UDA would carry the day on Thursday pointing out that they had done intense groundwork for Njuguna.

Waithira urged the residents to turn out in large numbers to vote for the UDA candidate, adding that transport will be provided for the elderly and those physically challenged.

The women representative equally voiced her support for Njuguna, saying that by retaining the seat, UDA will be able to retain numbers at the national assembly as the party with majority of the elected leaders.

Maina said the numbers were crucial, especially when it comes to advocating as well as passing of the government development policies and agendas.

Njuguna, who will be battling it out with other seven candidates promised to champion attainment of more development projects as well as ensuring those started by Wahome are completed.

He expressed optimism of carrying the day and appealed to the residents to support his bid to become their next member of parliament.

Other candidates vying for the same seat include Samuel Kioi (The New Democrats -TND), Joseph Mburu (Justice and Freedom Party -JFP), Pius Miruri Muturi (Independent), Kamweti Njuguna (Independent), Erust Gatehi Nyoike (Independent), Kiburi PMG Junior (Usawa Kwa Wote) and Titus Njau (Ford Asili).

By Bernard Munyao

Leave a Reply