Home > Counties > 13 new nominated MCAs sworn in Uasin Gishu County Assembly

13 new nominated MCAs sworn in Uasin Gishu County Assembly

The Uasin Gishu County Assembly has finally sworn in thirteen new UDA-nominated Members of the County Assembly (MCAs), after the previous eleven MCAs lost their seats after a court in Eldoret revoked their nominations.

The Eldoret Chief Magistrate, Dennis Mikoyan, nullified the nomination of eleven MCAs as the Court had found the list of nominated MCAs presented to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) earlier, was not in compliance with the Constitution.

Uasin Gishu County Assembly Speaker, Philip Muigei, presided over the swearing-in ceremony.

The Members are Carolyne Jeptanui, Cherono Carolyne, Everlyne Tirop, Naumi Serem, Pamela Jemutai, Sharon Kogo, Burgei Veronica, Celestine Mutai, and Rebecca Jerop under the gender list.

Others are Gereld Kiplagat, Tabitha Wambui, Robert Kiptanui, and Regina Chumba under the special category list.

Speaking during the ceremony, the Speaker noted that the nominated members have been given the mandate to carry out their functions as Members of the County Assembly and the Assembly, will give them the necessary support needed in discharging their duties.

The nominated MCA, Regina Chumba, noted that the people living with disabilities in Uasin Gishu are the biggest beneficiaries of the rulings made by Chief Justice Mikoyan, as the previous nomination list had failed to adhere to the principle that promotes the representation of persons with disabilities.

Chumba praised the Judiciary, noting that the Court had delivered justice and the persons with disability community in Uasin Gishu are going to be represented.

By Judy Too

Leave a Reply